2 Days in Tucson, Arizona

Hey, hey.  Long time, no post.  Life’s been a bit of a whirlwind as of late; I’ll explain in due time (when I have time to catch up).

We’re always on the hunt for bargain flights to places we’ve never been.  Over Easter weekend, we decided to celebrate with a quick trip to the desert since tickets from Knoxville were under 275.

I felt like my feet fit in there.

The first day of our trip was spent exploring within the city limits.  We visited the oober-trendy, ec0-friendly Sparkroot Cafe for a mid-morning (lunch-time with the time change) pick-me-up.  We moseyed down 4th Avenue and visited University Ave, and the University of Arizona campus.  A library visit was had!  Hard to go in a library without snooping.  In the afternoon, we headed back toward our hostel (Roadrunner Hostel–great, clean, cheap place), and stopped at Hotel Congress for some refreshments.  Can’t remember why Hotel Congress sounds familiar?  John Dillinger’s capture, my friends.  After showering, we headed out to eat some Mexican nearby.  I should have taken photos of the courtyard, which seemed festive and authentic, but I had a blogger fail.  Still, I hope you enjoy photos from our day in Tucson.

The Friday of our visit was very low key.  Saturday was a bit busier, especially as far as photography was concerned.  I’ll be back soon with a few posts of desert landscapes from that day.

Happy start to the work week.

65 Comments

Filed under Photography, Travel

65 responses to “2 Days in Tucson, Arizona

  1. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Tucson, but I haven’t been there yet.

  2. great photos showcasing a fun adventure. the food looks yummy.

  3. Your feet definitely fit in there!

    And I happen to love that “sexuality” and “women’s studies” are mutually exclusive. Too funny!
    ;)

  4. I like your choice of photo subjects. A fun blog!

  5. Thanks for sharing the experience. :)

  6. I’ve been thinking about visiting a friend there, and you may have pushed my hand. Thanks for the great pics!

  7. Ellen Berg

    Cassie, I just love your photography. My favorite of this group is the shot of the card catalog. Great photo, worthy of a frame!
    And I understand the need to explore other libraries. When we travel Don just knows to eventually head to a library, because that’s where I’m going!

    Ellen

    • Cassandra

      I was so excited to see so many rows of it. I always seem to be swinging by the country’s largest globe or something like that on our vacations, so visiting libraries only seems fair :) Miss you.

    • OMG! Is that old relic still in use? I used to file new cards in that card catalog as a college job (many years ago)!

      Cassie, I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit to my home town. if you get back to Tucson, don’t miss the Desert Museum, which is not a museum per se, but a zoo and educational treat about the Sonoran desert.

  8. You certainly made the most of your two days!

  9. I went there to Tucson once to visit friends and loved every minute of it. Thanks for the “revisit” with your photos! And congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  10. Is there something wrong with me? The pictures that capture my heart the most are the ones of food and those beautiful margaritas? :)

  11. Was it a used bookstore or a library? And was it better than McKay?

    • Cassandra

      Actually both. We went to a used bookstore and the University of Arizona main undergraduate library. The book store was on 4th Ave, and had a lot of personality, but was much, much smaller than McKay. I did geek out at the card catalog at the library!

  12. I just love the South West. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Nice post. I like the “Tacos -y- Nachos” picture. It just looks like, any second, Clint Eastwood could come out that door, flip back his poncho and light up a cigar. :)

  14. YR-Z

    I lived there for 5 years and I miss it terribly.

  15. I’ve been in Tucson once and love it. Thanks for sharing

  16. Tucson is my home; I’m glad you came to visit. It looks like you really immersed yourself. I look forward to seeing more of your photos of our desert, which is the best part of living here. Don’t sing our praises too much, though; it’s kind of a secret. Way to be Freshly Pressed!

    • Cassandra

      It’ll be hard to hide my enthusiasm when posting the next round of photos. We had such a great time in Saguaro.

      • I wish we’d had more rain this winter. The desert on the east side (like Saguaro N.M.) is the prettiest, but it really pops this time of year when we’ve had some moisture. I’m really glad you enjoyed it here!

  17. Constance V. Walden

    Thanks for sharing. I was in Arizona about six years ago during the summer time. HOT, HOT, HOT. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  18. princessepiggy

    how neat! cute blog :) hi from a fellow knoxvillian!!! hehe wish there were pictures on the mexican food though! <3

  19. jollyjam1

    Good trip. I love the desert so your blog caught my eye. Then I noticed that you live in Knoxville (my wife and I live in Chattanooga) so I had to stop by and check out your blog. Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    http://ushistoryfiles.wordpress.com/

    • Cassandra

      East Tennessee represent! Chattanooga is a great city…we did a great hike there last year–Signal Point to Edwards point. Liked your post on Dr. Trowbridge and alternative publishing/textbook opportunities, by the way.

  20. Enjoyed it. :) Looking forward to the desert pics.

  21. Never been to Tucson yet our photos make my mouth water for NM red chile!

  22. Your photos show the town from a different perspective. They are really nice. Did you ride the streetcar through mid-town?

    • Cassandra

      Unfortunately, no. We did all of our exploration of the city on foot that day (did rent a car for visiting Saguaro the next day though).

  23. This is very nice. congratulations.

  24. Fun and colorful. I’ve never been to Tucscon, but it looks welcoming.

  25. lijiujiu

    Wow! I can’t get over the amazing colours in your photographs!
    Nice job.

  26. A quirky travel report, I like it! Thanks for sharing.

  27. Mildly Entertained

    I am insanely jealous of your travels! I wish to find a job self-employed to travel when I want (I WISH!).

  28. I like your post. If you end up in the Scottsdale area, you should check out Lost Dutchman State Park. I have some photos of it on my blog.

  29. My family lives in Tucson and I’ve probably been there about 20 times by now! I love Tucson! My favorite refuge is by far Sabino Canyon. It is so spectacular and wonderful for hikes. I also like to drive up to Mount Lemmon as the views are spectacular. You also can’t beat drinks at either Starpass (amazing views) or Ventana Canyon. Hope you make it back. It is a wonderful place. Oh…also go to AJ’s Fine Foods for a nice scone or amazing desserts and coffee outside. It is wonderful.
    Congrats on the FP!

  30. hmmm….all those lovely looking drinks….makes one thirsty..great job on the post

  31. Tucson seems like a great place to visit. Besides, I’ve been wanting to visit Arizona since forever because I think it’s rather interesting. Now I have seen more photos that seem to prove just what I thought about it, I’m more convinced to give it a visit sometime soon. :)

  32. What a treat to see these pictures tonight! I moved from Tucson ten years ago and I miss it like hell (New Jersey is very, very different). I especially like the pics of the orange tree and Hotel Congress. Thanks for sharing them.

  33. Great pics! I look forward to seeing more.

  34. loved your shoes…..cocktails looks exotic….:)

  35. Nice blog…like it very much..

  36. The only picture missing is one of a golf course – Arizona really is the land of sun and golf!!

    • Cassandra

      Eek…well, I’ve never golfed a day in my life save for mini-golf. (And dare I say, golfing is a wee bit too expensive for our travel budget for the trip).

  37. Great pictures! I just moved from the Southwest…a nice view of my old stompin’ grounds! I love your artistic view. And…love your moccasins! Where can I get a pair of those? Looking forward to seeing the landscape photos.

    • Cassandra

      The moccasins are a bit old, so I’m not sure if they still offer the same ones, but they were purchased at REI. I wear them absolutely everywhere.

  38. rmnvr

    Reblogged this on rmnvr.

  39. CJaynes

    In having lived there a number of years, and my mother still lives there, Sabino Canyon is a good way to relax by taking the tram or walking the paved roadway. Like you mentioned 4th Ave is a good day to spend. Plenty of other places to visit. Downtown has plenty of old houses and even in South Tucson, you can get that Mexico feel without having to drive down to Nogales, Sonora, Mexico! Looks like you went to Saugaro National Monument West for a quick hike, since it’s within city limits. Love that city, once you get a bit of sand in your shoes, you’ll be back again!

  40. This makes me want to travel down there so much more than I already did!

  41. I spend four years in Tucson for my undergrad at U of A. It’s such a neat city, with so much natural beauty and hiking spots, clear skies (the observatory is nearby, so there are regulations against street lights), there are unique and eccentric places everywhere, as well as cultural and historical places (like Hotel Congress). Great pictures, and I’m glad you enjoyed your time there! I couldn’t imagine living there for good, but it’s an incredible city to visit.

  42. JM

    Great Photos! Just love Tucson. Lived there for a few years and do miss it! Layed back city with really a lot to do and explore!

  43. djtj57

    ill visit that place someday, cool pics tho.!

  44. I fell in love with Tucson when I visited back in 1998. I haven’t been in years and your beautiful photos helped me remember that I want to go back.

Leave a Reply

